Placed … in the right place

H&P are delighted to have the opportunity to interview (the very beautiful) Rene of PLACED, a very popular Irish Etsy store. Everything you find there is handmade in their Belfast studio.

“Most things will be adorned with an Irish/Gaelic word, we love the fact we have a language all our own here, but are full of dismay that it’s rarely used and we ourselves are not fluent. The items we make are like ‘prompts’ if you like, which we use around our house to remind us of our culture, individuality and unique identity and we hope that all those of you who have also fallen in love with this ever-so-green land, will place them around your home too.”

How and where are you today?

I am great, in my favourite state of being – flat out busy! I love being busy and not getting to tick all the boxes on the To Do List at the end of the day. I like going to bed knowing there are a whole load of reasons to get up! Today I am at home making my way through a mountain of tasks mostly associated with the fact I just had a baby 6 weeks ago, so am also making my way through a packet of coffee and a box of flapjacks.

 How would you describe the journey that has brought you to this place? And was this the destination you had in mind?

 Convoluted! I had an interest in form and arrangement from an early age but had no idea of how to apply this in life as an adult until my mid 20’s.

 I didn’t and still don’t know what the destination might be, I am delighted with my day to day existence and want to always just live for the day.

 

Do you have a process to ensure you are in the right frame of mind to create?

 Yes, I send the kids to school, that usually does it! I also have a coffee and then read some blogs, put on some music and start to squeeze as much in as I can before it’s time to collect the kids from school again! I also really like working at night which is why I set up my studio at my house.

How do you think your background and culture influences your creations?

 Entirely, I lived away from Ireland from ages 18 to 30 and the draw back was huge in design potential terms. My country and my Irish blood give me the inspiration for my work, the Viking blood in me gives me the clean crisp lines and fresh approach, I think!

 What does beauty mean to you?

 Beauty is a sense, I think, I can’t articulate what it means. In some cases it means everything and at other times it means nothing at all.

If we had interviewed you when you were 11, what would you have told us you wanted to be when you grew up?

Coping. As an 11 year old from a fairly complicated situation all I had as an ambition was to be able to cope. I have totally fulfilled that ambition so essentially I’ve made it!

 What advice have you received that you want everyone to benefit from?

Be nice.

Make your way over to PLACED to purchase some beautiful items

Thank you so very much Rene

we are so delighted to have you as part of the Handsome and Pretty family

handsome and pretty

x

Let your voice be heard

