Will St Leger

Hello everyone. We hope you are well.

A fantastic interview this week with the very lovely

and extremely talented Will St Leger

Will St Leger is a Dublin based artivist (art activist) and has built up quite a reputation creating iconic pieces to address Ireland’s new age. From his iconic ‘Sinking Ship’ to the brutal ‘Awake with stitched Heart’ , Will St Ledger is one of the country’s leading artistic commentators on the state our nation finds itself in.

I call myself a mindful vandal

How and where are you today?

Today I’m putting the final touches to a book I’m designing for a Transgender group in Ireland. It’s full of stories, poetry and photograph by Trans people. A real eye opener.

How would you describe the journey that has brought you to this place? And was this the destination you had in mind?

The journey is not what I expected. When I left design college I expected to be a graphic designer forever. Thankfully this path has twisted and turned through activism, theatre, music and art. I’m producing more work at the age of 40 than anything I’ve done in my twenties. And I’ve got a lifetime of work ahead of me.

(100 Landmines in Dublin)

Do you have a process to ensure you are in the right frame of mind to create?

I think I do. I normally ‘sit’ with an idea for a few weeks, I obsess about it and then forget it. Until one day all that mediation suddenly whacks me on the head with a solution. It’s a bit like being enlightened.

(Famine & Byrne)

How do you think your background and culture influences your creations?

A lot. As a designer I know how to convey ideas succinctly. As an activist I’m not afraid of expressing difficult ideas nor do I fear repression.

What does beauty mean to you?

That point between mind and mouth, when I’m overwhelmed by a joy that cannot be expressed.

(How Soon is Mao)

If we had interviewed you when you were 11, what would you have told us you wanted to be when you grew up?

An artist – I knew I was going to be an artist/cartoonist when I was 8 – I count myself fortunate that I knew that.

What advice have you received that you want everyone to benefit from?

Everything in this world is impermanent. Everything around us is in a state of flux whether those changes are slow or fast, nothing lasts. Once you accept this you will be free to live moment to moment without suffering from desire.

(One Day I Will Grow Wings)

Have a look at more of Will’s work here

Thank you so very much Will. We know how busy you are and appreciate you taking the time to answer our questions.

We’re sure you already knew, but hooray you’re in the family!

Katie and Lisa

handsome and pretty

x

Let your voice be heard

