An Interview with Laura Simms

Hello our lovely family of readers.

Today we are very excited. We have a very special individual answering our questions. Laura Simms from Create As Folk, a daily inspirational read for us here at Handsome and Pretty. And now, she is HERE! Hooray!

As a biz illuminatrix, Laura Simms helps purpose-driven entrepreneurs discover their unique value & communicate that in a fun & profitable way.

Think clarity + service + style = cash.

She’s the author of Roadmap to Action (www.createasfolk.com/roadmap), the guide that’s helped hundreds of creatives learn to work smarter.

Laura blogs weekly from her bird’s egg blue chair at createasfolk.com

How and where are you today?

 It’s night and I’m in my studio. I’ve had a fun day out with my hubby–we rode a tiny roller coaster and ate a great hot dog with fennel slaw from a food truck. I’m looking forward to curling up with an episode of MadMen to finish out the day.

 How would you describe the journey that has brought you to this place? And was this the destination you had in mind?

 The journey has been amazing, but I definitely didn’t think this would be one of the stops. I was an actor for almost 10 years before transitioning into coaching. I thought I’d be working and developing my craft as an actor well into old age. Much of it still fascinates me, and I think I still have some unsettled business with acting that I’ll want to dive back into at some point. But I never envisioned having my own business, working with women, and being a leader in this capacity.

 Do you have a process to ensure you are in the right frame of mind to create?

 Eat hot dogs and ride roller coasters. No, I find it easy to create when I’m excited about something. So one of my jobs is to seek inspiration. From books, blogs, conversations, movies, music. When I find something that I really need to say, the work that goes along with that flows.

 How do you think your background and culture influences your creations?

 I grew up a theatre kid. I grew up thinking of myself as an artist and with an awareness that art matters. That ideas matter. And that there were a lot of ways to communicate, and that for some things, art was the best way to ask questions, heal wounds, and celebrate. That has a profound influence why and how I work.

 What does beauty mean to you?

 So many conflicting answers come to mind! Purity, irregularity, openness, vulnerability, asymmetry. Perfect doesn’t interest me. Simplicity plus a little bit of contradiction catches my eye.

 If we had interviewed you when you were 11, what would you have told us you wanted to be when you grew up?

 A vet or an archeologist. I was big into animals and Ancient Egypt.

What advice have you received that you want everyone to benefit from?

There’s a message that my parents echoed to me many times and many ways throughout the years: “Don’t worry about what other people think, just do what you know is right.” It’s my lighthouse.

Thank you so VERY much Laura. We love your answers, and very much appreciate you taking the time to be here.

Welcome to the family!

We encourage everyone to get themselves over to Create as Folk. Prepare to be inspired…

handsome and pretty

x

One thought on “An Interview with Laura Simms

  1. I am always inspired by such optimism in someone. And how there can be great reward in the unexpected or unplanned. Thanks for sharing!

Let your voice be heard

