An Interview with Beth Evans

These interviews just get bigger and better. So with us today is the wonderful interior, still life, and travel photographer Beth Evans.

BETH EVANS:

Photographer

Londoner

Voyeur

Nosy Neighbour

……………………….

How and where are you today?

I’m well thank you. Today I am mainly enjoying the delights of the outdoors and early rising. I worked till 9am, then a morning walking the dogs on the Heath, followed by lunch and harvesting on my mum’s allotment. Always a fantastic source of strength for the mind, body and soul.

How would you describe the journey that has brought you to this place? And was this the destination you had in mind?

The journey was like a roller coaster – thrilling, exhilarating, nerve racking, tense, relentless – and the minute it stops, you want to go again. Peaks and troughs, peaks and troughs.

The destination is the sea of tranquility. I’m feeling its waves lapping against my toes the older I get.

(image – Sunday Times Style Magazine)

Do you have a process to ensure you are in the right frame of mind to create?

Food and walking. For a clear mind to begin each day, I require space – inside and out. By 4pm – a disco, and then tea & cake become essential.

(Amy and Blake)

How do you think your background and culture influences your creations?

It is who I am and what I create. It is a huge part of me. It’s funny, someone described my work as being “very English” the other day. I was surprised and asked them to explain, and they said “Well it’s somewhat eccentric and a bit moody, but beautiful”.

What does beauty mean to you?

Beauty for me is something that is effortless and captures your being – it stirs you from the core.

If we had interviewed you when you were 11, what would you have told us you wanted to be when you grew up?

Honestly I would not have known – I’m not sure I know now.

 What advice have you received that you want everyone to benefit from?

There really is nothing to fear, so just get on with it.

(www.bethevans.com)

***

LOVE that last answer! Imagine someone shared with you the secret that there was actually nothing to fear? What would you do? Because it’s true. Isn’t it?

Thank you beautiful Beth. We are so happy you are part of the family! Welcome!

handsome and pretty

x

Let your voice be heard

