An Interview With Brian Magee

Today, we have a great interview for you. We get a sneak peak into the cosmic playing field that is the mind of Brian Magee.

Brian Magee is a Belfast based screen printer with a passion for image making – He brings together random mark making techniques with colour and texture and lots of experimentation!

How and where are you today?

Today I’m at home looking out at the rain drinking coffee and listening to the radio trying to get the wheels in motion after the weekend! I don’t have a studio, so I work from home or at the Belfast print workshop. Recently though my approach to image making for screen print has become more digitalized which means more time working at home – sketchbooks, collages, photographs etc. are scanned into Photoshop then cut up and arranged, this helps to give me a much better overview of the end result, a complete turnaround to how I used to work which was time consuming and experimental with hefty photocopier bills with varying results, not a bad or wrong way to work just different.

(image: Pink Flag)

 How would you describe the journey that has brought you to this place? And was this the destination you had in mind?

I remember when I graduated from Art College in 2004 I didn’t want to make anything for ages then slowly I started to fill sketchbooks and gather imagery and had a renewed energy to get my hands dirty and make stuff! I had been awarded a year’s free membership to the Belfast print workshop when I graduated, so I decided to get stuck in and develop my screen print skills, style and approach. I’ve been a member ever since. I’m not sure if I’ve ever had a destination in mind but I’ve always wanted to and have continued to make work for myself and develop as an artist which is important.

(image: Dull Saturdays in October)

Do you have a process to ensure you are in the right frame of mind to create?

I don’t have a process, mainly the ingredients of strong black coffee and music set me up! I don’t think you’re mind ever really stops turning over ideas reviewing and editing whatever might be working on… if my head is melted though, I like go out for long aimless walks whatever the weather!

How do you think your background and culture influences your creations?

The biggest influence on my work would easily be music; I have always made connections between sound and imagery. I love how both share an exploration of texture and mood they give you an opportunity to drift off and evoke something within yourself.

(above image: Under Water)

What does beauty mean to you?

Simple and measured and not always orthodox.

If we had interviewed you when you were 11, what would you have told us you wanted to be when you grew up?

My Dad built me a drawing board when I was in first year of secondary school and I remember wanting to write stories and illustrate them. I have memories of throwing paint around the garage in a Jackson Pollock style! I’d seen some of his paintings and thought anyone can do that! I loved art and making things but I wasn’t an amazing drawer, what I liked about his painting or mainly what I perceived was an attitude of making something irrelevant of ability, focused more on expression and playfulness. I guess I would have said something art-based.

(above image: Trip Round the Coast)

 What advice have you received that you want everyone to benefit from?

You’ll never know unless you try.

***

Check out more of Brian’s work here – www.brianmagee.tumblr.com

***

thank you so much Brian, welcome to the family!

handsome and pretty

x

Let your voice be heard

