an interview with Jaina Minton from Polka Dot Sundays

Hello and welcome to Wednesday.

As promised, we have another great interview for you today.  If you have ever watched Kirstie’s Handmade Britain, then you will remember the wonderful Jaina of Polka Dot Sundays … Well she is here with us today! Hurrah!

***

JainaMintonGraduating in Fine Art and subsequently working as a prop maker for the television and advertising industries, Jaina has always had a talent for the handcrafted. A passion for making, a desire to create cheerful objects and an obsession with paper, led her to start Polka Dot Sundays.

 Now working fom her studio in London, each piece is delicately handmade by the artist, re-using everyday materials such as newspaper and card.

No armature is used within and the form is carefully crafted by compacting and sculpting the newspaper from scratch. The pieces are colourfully finished by meticulously applying tiny cut pieces of tissue paper or fabric using the decoupage technique.

 To view more work and for information on workshops, please visit the website http://www.polkadotsundays.com

How and where are you today?

I’m at home today in North London near Ally Pally. I have my daughter

Freya with me, she is 15 months old, we’ve been swimming and now we

are making salt dough squidgey prints. This is a new game where you

roll out salt dough then press random objects into it to make

impressions. Minutes of amusement guaranteed!

lOve for book

How would you describe the journey that has brought you to this place? And were these the roads you expected to take?

My journey so far has been is a mixture of luck, hard work and making

things happen. I’m definitely still only half way through…I haven’t

reached there yet and I’m not sure what the destination is either..! I

honestly had no expectations as I’ve just taken each ‘road’ as it’s

come along …

JainaMinton_LibertyBirds

Do you have a process to ensure you are in the right frame of mind to create?

I need to know I have the time and space to really get stuck in. I can’t just grab a spare 20 minutes- I wish I could, I’d get more done! A clean work space, 6 music on the radio, a fresh scalpel blade and enough Sellotape to go are essentials.

How do you think your background and culture influences your creations?

 Perhaps my love of colour and pattern come from being surrounded by such things… Indian culture is so full of colour and creativity, I can’t not be influenced by these.

JainaMinton_giraffe

What does beauty mean to you?

Beauty, for me, is closely linked with perfection. However this is not

always a good thing.

JainaMinton_swallows

>If we had interviewed you when you were 11, what would you have told us you wanted to be when you grew up?

  I was still quite naive at 11 and slightly obsessed with underwater mythical creatures. Aside from ‘Mermaid’, I probably would have wanted to be a children’s illustrator.

JainaMinton_monkeyfloral

What advice have you received that you want everyone to benefit from?

Always say “Yes” to the present moment – Eckhart Tolle.

***

 To view more work and for information on workshops, please visit the website www.polkadotsundays.com

***

Thank you so much Jaina!! We are so delighted that you could join us. Welcome to the family, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

handsome and pretty

x

Let your voice be heard

