An interview with Katy from Buttonfly

Welcome everyone!

Shaking things up a little this week, we have our interview on a Thursday! Can you cope? We think so once you meet our lovely interviewee and read what she has to say.

So, without further ado, we introduce the wonderful Katy Dickens, the face and talent behind ButtonFly Furniture, her up-cycling company.

Me“I’ve always been very interested in interior design. Growing up I’d always be doing something or other to my bedroom and, to this day, would rather spend my last fiver on an interiors mag than ‘something useful’!

Now, I take unwanted items, upcycle them through decoupage, and make them lovable again. I use beautiful paper which combines colour and pattern to transform tired items into little stunners. I like to keep everything eco – by reusing things that people don’t want any more, it means less stuff for landfill. I also use a waterbased glue and have found a great waterbased varnish that doesn’t yellow which allows the colour of the paper to be preserved.

To me, the mix of eclectic pieces with bright colours is simply stunning. I think hodge podge rocks!

Drawers

How and where are you today?

I’m very good thanks, busy creating at my little studio in Bermondsey, south London.

How would you describe the journey that has brought you to this place? And were these the roads you expected to take?

By profession I’m a paediatric nurse, but long shifts and seriously ill kiddies get you down a bit. I wanted to do a job which wasn’t so stressful and so followed my passion. I still have to do some shifts cos I’m not quite earning a full time wage, but I quit my job last summer to pursue my furniture on a more full time basis – and it was the best thing I could have done. My kitchen used to be where I created but my flat got so disorganised, climbing over stuff to get a pan out the cupboard, so I had to get a cheap work space. I’m self taught at my craft and so have no art based training, I guess 5 years ago I never thought I’d be here now!

Do you have a process to ensure you are in the right frame of mind to create?

Nope, I just rock up and do it.  Maybe I should though now you ask!

Mirror

How do you think your background and culture influences your creations?

I’m always drawn to colour and love vintage items, but I guess these aren’t my background or culture so maybe not. Maybe I was a hippie in a previous life – I hope so anyway.

What does beauty mean to you?

Beauty takes my breath away. Beauty makes me smile. I like beauty in its simplest form, things that are overlooked or taken for granted. The way the light falls on a little flower in the morning or a dusty old book with a fantastic patterned cover sitting in a charity shop. I feel that beauty is everywhere.

Cabinet

If we had interviewed you when you were 11, what would you have told us you wanted to be when you grew up?

An author. Or a ballet dancer. I should have never given up ballet.

What advice have you received that you want everyone to benefit from?

Read The Secret.

Stool

***

Want to find out more and maybe even order a commission?

Website – http://www.buttonfly.co.uk

Twitter – @buttonflyfly

Email – katy@buttonfly.co.uk

***

What an amazing, courageous lady! Thank you so very much Katy, it is so lovely to have you here on handsome and pretty – welcome to the family!

handsome and pretty

x

Let your voice be heard

