the humans of new york

Good day to you!

This week a good friend of the blog ( @colm ) introduced us to the wonderful Brandon Stanton and his photographic blog Humans of New York 

Hey there. I’m Brandon. I get really passionate about things.  At some time in my life, I’ve been obsessed or borderline-obsessed with saltwater aquariums, the baritone euphonium, reading, piano, filming, financial markets, New York City, and photography.  I studied History at the University of Georgia.  During my senior year of college, I took out $3,000 in student loans and bet it on Barack Obama to win the presidency.  A friend heard about this bet and got me a job trading bonds on the Chicago Board of Trade.  I traded for three years.  It went really well for awhile.  But then it went really bad. Whoops. After I lost my trading job, I decided to move to New York City and take portraits of strangers on the street. Mom wasn’t too happy about that decision, but so far it’s gone pretty well. I’ve taken nearly 5,000 portraits and written 50 stories. And I’ve met some amazing people along the way.”

(STORYBOARD: Capturing the ‘Humans of New York’ from Tumblr on Vimeo.)

Some of the portraits and stories we love …

tumblr_mmka2qQX831qggwnvo1_400

I never married.

Why not?

Because you didn’t come along until today.

***

tumblr_mmg4uzgtKn1qggwnvo1_400

Twelve years, twenty one prisons. But I ain’t going back.

***

tumblr_mmcnl0pAKJ1qggwnvo1_400

I just got accepted to a competitive animation program!

***

tumblr_mm815gpCl91qggwnvo1_400

I collect socks. I have about 40 pairs. 

Which socks get the most comments?

Definitely my virgin mary socks.

***

tumblr_mm8kybp0CH1qggwnvo1_400

I want to be a clothing designer.

What’s the hardest part about designing clothes?

Designing them.

***

There are hundreds to scroll through. It’s amazing how a snapshot and one sentence can make you feel like you know someone, but you really do. It’s beautiful in so many ways, because as complicated as we all are, sometimes we also very simple.

handsome and pretty

x

Let your voice be heard

