Tigerlilly Quinn Interview

Welcome to Wednesday!

We are delighted to be kicking off a new season of ‘Handsome and Pretty Introduce” with the gorgeous Fritha Strickland of Tigerlilly Quinn blog and shop.

I (Lisa) discovered her lovely shop when I received a complimentary cloud brooch as part of the Blogtacular event earlier this month. I fell in love with it immediately, and, upon investigation, realised there was a whole lot more to love!

Fritha kindly agreed to be interviewed by H&P and has thrown in a little discount code too!!!


H&M dress
.
“I am a professional blogger, freelance social media type person and shop owner named Fritha, living in Bristol with my boyfriend Tom, my toddler son Wilf and my cats (rockie and maddie).
I blog about our family life, interior design, fashion, travel, recipes and lots more besides! Three and a half years ago my boyfriend and I bought a run down house in Bristol and decided to do it up with little more than a bit of savings, a few good friends with DIY skills and a lot of cups of tea. Add to the mix a now two year old boy named Wilf and two fat cats and we are constantly adding to our dream home. It has and continues to be a labour of love. When I am not blogging about our life I am also running my online boutique created simply to give me an excuse to buy yet more washi tape.”

Fritha’s credits include:

MAD Blog Awards finalist in the Homes and Interiors section

ranked number 1 in the HIBS 100 blogs (home and interior blogs)

ranked number 27 in the UK TOTS 100 blogs (parenting blogs)

How and where are you today?
Sitting in my living room in Bristol with a cup of coffee in hand, notebooks and plans for the week spread around me!
.
joules yellow coat, clifton
.
How would you describe the journey that has brought you to this place? And were these the roads you expected to take?
I’ve always wanted to work for myself but never quite knew how to do it. I was stuck in a job I didn’t quite hate but certainly didn’t fulfil me at all. Strangely enough it becoming a mum that led me to my journey of self-employment. With maternity leave I was able to spend more time on my passions and outlets like blogging and sure enough my readership grew to a stage where I realised I could earn enough from my site that I needn’t have to return to work. It was this security that meant I was also able to take a risk and invest in opening up my online shop, something I’d wanted to do for a very long time. Now both incomes combined mean I am earning the same about as I did when I worked in my office job. A situation that makes me pinch myself with how lucky I am to be finally doing something I love!
.
geo_necklace
.
Do you have a process to ensure you are in the right frame of mind to create?
Nursery days ; ) My son started attending part-time childcare when he was 18m and I use these days to really focussing on editing for the shop, writing content for the blog, packing orders and all the in-between! I’m lucky that running a life-style blog means that my content is mainly about what we get up to on our days together so it’s a pleasure to write.
.
cloud_badge_small
.
How do you think your background and culture influences your creations?
I’ve always been into the kitch and cute and my illustrations and items in my shop reflect that. I stock a lot of independent designers in the shop all of which produce items I would wear myself and made me feel excited as soon as I saw them!
.
mountain_sunset_necklace_I_am_acrylic_
.
What does beauty mean to you?
I’ve found that both my creative outlets help me see beauty in everyday life. Having a love for photography helps too, I’m often noticing a wall or pattern in the street that strikes me as beautiful. Beauty can be found in anything really!
.
cat_bag_shop
.
If we had interviewed you when you were 11, what would you have told us you wanted to be when you grew up?
An artist…whilst I’m not the type of artist my 11 year old self wanted to be I think my life now is very similar to how I saw my ‘dream future’ to be.
.
washi_set_one
.
What advice have you received that you want everyone to benefit from?
Go for it! I wish I had taken the leap of faith I needed to quit my day job and work on the things I love earlier but thankfully I didn’t leave it to late either!

Get yourselves over to the Tigerlilly Quinn BLOG and SHOP
And, as if you needed an incentive, Fritha has kindly offered an exclusive 10% discount for
Handsome and Pretty readers if you quote ‘prettycode‘ at checkout!
.
Thank you SO much Fritha for being with us today,
and giving us a sneak peak into your wonderful world.
Welcome to the Handsome and Pretty family!
x
One thought on “Tigerlilly Quinn Interview

Let your voice be heard

