An Interview with Wolf and Moon

There is great excitement here today as we introduce Hannah of Wolf and Moon to Handsome and Pretty. As huge fans of her jewellery, we are delighted that she agreed to do an interview with us and included an extra special discount code for her shop! Read on!!

hannahwam

Wolf & Moon is a handcrafted jewellery label created by British artist & designer Hannah Davis. Everything is lovingly handmade by a small team of makers in our studio based in Hackney, London.

Inspiration for each collection comes from a variety of places including nature, travel, art deco, experimentation with patterns, colour and the materials themselves.

A few years ago, whilst studying at university, Hannah decided to start selling some of her jewellery on a stall in East London every Sunday. After enjoying some success and gaining interest from several stockists, Hannah opened the online shop and started selling her jewellery to boutiques and online stores around the UK and further afield.

Hannah graduated from Goldsmiths in 2011 with a degree in Fine Art. You can find her personal portfolio here: cargocollective.com/hannahdavis

All the jewellery here at Wolf & Moon is made in house. We try and source the majority of our materials from Britain and Europe. It is important to us support other independent businesses, so a lot of time and care is undertaken when looking for new material stockists. The wood we use is FSC approved, and all off cuts (as well as other waste products) are recycled.


Wolf_and_Moon_Brooch_-_wood_large

(Wolf and Moon Brooch £15)

How and where are you today?

Hi! I’m well thanks. I’m currently in my Hackney based studio.

3mm-stack-white-edit_large

(Contrast Ring £16)

How would you describe the journey that has brought you to this place? And were these the roads you expected to take?

I started off selling second hand finds via Myspace to my friends, which then progressed to making and selling my own jewellery.

Whilst I was studying at University, I decided to make and sell jewellery to make a bit of pocket money (I hated waitressing!). I had a stall on Brick Lane, and it built up from there. I got some wholesale interest, started selling at Festivals, and have been growing Wolf & Moon ever since!

Whilst I never set out to become a jewellery designer, I have always known that I have wanted to do something creative and be my own boss!

crystal_collar_-_purpleteal_large

(Crystal Collar Necklace £62)

Do you have a process to ensure you are in the right frame of mind to create?

I find inspiration in a lot of places, from travelling, walking and taking a look in museums. I have a big sketchbook full of ideas! I do need a quiet space to draw though.

LHS_-_purple-tortoise_2_large

(Little Hex Studs £16)

How do you think your background and culture influences your creations?

Both of my parents have been music teachers, so the creative arts were a focal point of my childhood. I was handed a paintbrush at the age of 3 and made a working umbrella out of card and tissue paper when I was 4 (all on my own!).

What does beauty mean to you?

Walking in the forests where I grew up.

crystalcomb-black-web_large

(Crystal Hair Comb £30)

If we had interviewed you when you were 11, what would you have told us you wanted to be when you grew up?

I wanted to be an architect – I had a sketchbook of plans full of octagonal shaped shopping centres. I counted out every single car parking space.

What advice have you received that you want everyone to benefit from?

Stick to what you are good at.

shrooms-pink_large

(Shrooms Headpiece £78)


Wolf and Moon website / shop / blog / twitter


Hannah has very kindly given us an exclusive discount code which entitles you to 10% off in her shop:

WMHANDSOME

(expires 9 August 2014)


Thank you so very much Hannah – what a pleasure it has been to have you here!

handsome and pretty

x

Let your voice be heard

